Entête_01_optimise

Foire aux questions (F.A.Q.)

 

Bienvenue sur la page FAQ pour vous aidez à trouver des réponses à vos questions!

 

Vous ne trouvez pas de réponse à votre question? Il nous fera plaisir de vous aidez, contactez-nous!

 

 

 

Q. Quel est la meilleur manière d’entretenir tes Öko-pads?

R. Il existe une multitude de façon d’entretenir vos Öko-pads. Nous t'en présentons 3 juste ici. Adapte ces méthodes selon tes besoins!.

 

Q. Mes serviettes restent tâchées, que faire?

R. Le percarbonate de sodium est très efficace contre les tâches. Nous suggérons aussi la méthode d’entretien de Madame Blancheville. Sache aussi que la chaleur peut fixer les tâches. Nous recommandons de laver à l’eau froide ou tiède et de vérifier si tes tâches persistent avant de les mettre à la sécheuse.

Autrement, même s'il reste des tâches, le produit reste toujours efficace. Il est seulement moins esthétique.

 

Q. Est-ce que je dois laver mes Öko-pads durant mon cycle?

R. Tu n’es pas obligé de faire la lessive durant tes règles. Dans ce cas, simplement t’assurer que tu aies assez d’Öko-pads pour la durée de tout ton cycle. Si tu souhaites faire la lessive, nos Öko-pads vont à la sécheuse, donc pas de souci à se demander si elles seront sèches à temps.

 

Q. Comment faire pour éviter que ma serviette ne bouge?

R. Le tissu en contact avec le sous-vêtement est fait en coton, une matière non glissante (contrairement au PUL qui est parfois utilisé dans la confection d’autres marques de serviettes hygiéniques lavables). Si, malgré tout, tu as l’impression que ta serviette bouge, nous suggérons de porter un sous-vêtement en coton ajusté et d’éviter ceux fabriqués avec un matériel glissant (satin, nylon, etc.) avec tes Öko-pads.

Lors des journées abondantes, tu peux utiliser le modèle d’Öko-pads longs qui a deux paires d’ailes pour une meilleure stabilité. Astuce : tu peux même porter un deuxième sous-vêtement par-dessus le premier; idéal pour la nuit.

 

Q. J’ai des fuites avec mes Öko-pads, que faire?

R. Il est plutôt rare d’avoir des fuites avec les Öko-pads. Par contre, si cela arrive, voici quelques conseils;

-Prépare tes Öko-pads; lave tes Öko-pads avant de les utiliser. Elles deviennent plus absorbantes au fil des lavages.

-Choisi le bon degré d’absorption adapté à ton flux.

-Assure toi de changer de serviettes lorsque nécessaire.

-Assure toi que ta serviette soit bien positionnée et porte un sous-vêtement qui la garde bien en place.

-Remarque si ton flux est plus liquide qu’à l’habitude et si ça semble être la cause de la fuite.

Si tu as des fuites malgré tout, n’hésites pas à nous contacter!

 

Q. Combien de serviettes lavables ai-je besoin pour mon cycle?

R. Cela peut effectivement être difficile de savoir combien nous avons besoin de protections lavables lorsque nous prenons le virage du réutilisable.

Voici les éléments à prendre en considération:

-Ton type de flux menstruel; léger, régulier, abondant?

-Le nombre de fois que tu changes de protection au cours de la journée;

-Si tu souhaites faire de la lessive ou non durant ton cycle.

 

Ici un exemple de calcul:

Maxime utilise habituellement 3 serviettes jetables par jour et 1 la nuit. Les deux premiers jours son flux est régulier, les 2 suivants, plus léger et la dernière journée il peut y avoir du spotting. Maxime ne souhaite pas faire de lavage pendant son cycle.

Nous pouvons calculer ses besoins ainsi :

(3 serviettes par jour x 2 jours flux régulier) + (3 serviettes par jour x 2 jours flux léger) +(2 serviettes par jour x 1 jour spotting) + 4 nuits =

6 serviettes régulières (flux régulier), 6 liners (flux modéré), 2 mini (flux léger) et 4 longues (flux abondant ou nuit) pour un cycle complet. Ce calcul est à titre indicatif seulement.

 

Tu peux aussi intégrer graduellement les protections lavables. C’est-à-dire commencer avec quelques serviettes lavables et compléter ton kit par la suite avec que qui te convient.

 

Q. Est-ce que les Öko-pads conviennent pour les pertes urinaires?

R. Les modèles régulier et long peuvent convenir pour les pertes urinaires légère.

 

Q. Puis-je utiliser les Öko-pads longs en Post-Partum?

R. Nos Öko-Pads longs ne sont pas spécialement fait pour porter en post-partum. Par contre, plusieurs blogueuses les ont testés en post-partum (dont Maman loup's Den) et ont été très satisfaites de leur absorption et grandeur. Il est conseillé de les laver au minimum 2 fois avant utilisation pour être sûre qu'elles soient bien absorbantes.

 

Q. J’ai lavé mes Öko-pads avant de les porter, mais la texture du tissu semble pelucheuse. Est-ce normal?

R. Il se peut que la texture du chanvre des Öko-pads soit ‘’pelucheuse’’ lors des premiers lavages, c’est normal. Cela s’estompera aux fils des lavages. L'action de laver et de sécher le chanvre ouaté permet d'ouvrir les fibres textiles et augmenter l'absorption. Il s'agit d'une fibre naturelle qui peut avoir des variations d'un tissage à l'autre. Si après quelques lavages la texture ne semble pas se régler et qu’elle te dérange, contacte-nous.

 

 

Q. Est-ce que le laminage sur les produits à usage alimentaire est santé?

R. Nous utilisons un polyuréthane de grade alimentaire, il est donc sans danger.

 

Q. Combien de temps puis-je conserver mon pain dans les sacs à pain de conservation?

R. Le pain restera frais au moins 5 jours (s’il en reste d’ici là).

 

Q. Est-ce que je peux congeler mon pain dans les sacs à pains de conservation?

R : Bien que le sac ne soit pas conçu pour cela, tu peux l’utiliser au congélateur. Par contre, le sac n’étant pas 100% étanche, nous ne conseillons pas de congeler des aliments plus de 1 à 2 semaines.

 

 

Q. Combien de temps dure le produit?

R. Une fois dissous dans l'eau, le produit dure aussi longtemps qu'un produit nettoyant standard. Nous recommandons néanmoins de l'utiliser dans les 6 mois afin de préserver les fragrances naturelles.

Si le produit est dans son sachet d’origine et gardé dans un endroit sec, il peut se conserver plusieurs années.

 

Q. Quelle est la quantité d’eau nécessaire?

R. Une pastille peut être dissoute dans 500 ml d'eau.

 

Q. Comment utiliser les pastilles correctement?

R. Commencez par fermer la tête du vaporisateur de votre bouteille (OFF).

Déposez une pastille dans une bouteille de 500 ml d’eau. Attendez ensuite la dissolution complète de la pastille. Au moment d’utiliser le produit, ouvrez la tête du vaporisateur (ON). À chaque nettoyage, secouez légèrement la bouteille afin d’assurer que le concentré est bien réparti dans l’ensemble du nettoyant.

Vous avez terminé votre première pastille? Bravo, vous avez sauvé une bouteille de plastique.

Pensez maintenant à rincer la bouteille avant d’y ajouter une seconde pastille.

 

Q. Est-ce que je dois utiliser de l’eau froide ou de l’eau chaude?

R. Les deux fonctionnent très bien. Plus l'eau est chaude, plus rapide est la dissolution de la pastille.

 

Q. Est-ce que la bouteille doit être complètement vide avant d’ajouter une seconde pastille?

R. Afin de garantir une parfaite concentration du produit, nous recommandons de vider la bouteille entre chaque ajout de nouvelles pastilles.

 

Q. Est-ce que je dois secouer la bouteille pour dissoudre la pastille?

R. Normalement, la pastille se dissoute en quelques secondes. Si toutefois, la pastille n’est pas totalement dissoute ou que le produit ne semble pas totalement mélangé, vous pouvez secouer légèrement la bouteille. Assurez-vous toutefois que le vaporisateur soit fermé (OFF) avant de secouer.

 

Q. Est-ce que je peux utiliser une bouteille que j’ai à la maison?

R. Bien sûr! Le processus est alors le même que si vous utilisiez nos bouteilles.

 

Q. Est-ce que votre produit pour les vitres lave aussi bien que la célèbre marque de produit bleu pour les vitres?

R.Ultimement, oui! Toutefois, nous utilisons des produits naturels dans notre formulation, contrairement à cette célèbre compagnie de produits bleus. Comme il n’y a pas d’alcool dans nos pastilles, l’eau peut parfois prendre plus de temps à s’évaporer. Nous vous suggérons donc de laver vos miroirs et fenêtres avec une serviette de microfibre et d’essuyer immédiatement avec un linge sec. Un de nos procédés de formulation permet ainsi de polir la zone de nettoyage pour un fini brillant.

 

Q. Quels sont les ingrédients de vos produits?

R. La transparence est au cœur de notre entreprise. Nous utilisons des ingrédients 100% naturels. Vous pouvez consulter les ingrédients directement sur nos fiches de produits dans l’espace informations complémentaires au bas de la page.

 

Q. Testez-vous vos produits sur des animaux?

R. Bien sûr que non! Nos produits sont végans.

 

Q. Pourquoi ne pas utiliser d’huiles essentielles dans vos produits?

R. Certaines huiles essentielles peuvent nuire aux femmes enceintes ou à certaines personnes plus vulnérables. C’est pourquoi nous préférons utiliser des fragrances naturelles.

 

Q. Où sont fabriqués vos produits?

R.Nous faisons la production dans la ville de Québec, Canada.

 

 

Q. Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un produit est classé Imparfait?

R. Il arrive parfois que certains produits ne répondent pas à nos standards de qualité. Dans les produits imparfaits tu peux retrouver certain(s) petit(s) défaut(s) comme :

- Une couture qui a été réparée;

- Une petite tache sur le produit;

- Une petite irrégularité dans la forme ou les dimensions;

- Autres petits défauts qui n’affectent pas l’utilisation du produit.

Dans tous les cas, le produit que tu achètes est seulement un peu moins esthétique!

 

Q. Pourquoi je n’arrive pas à ajouter un produit imparfait à mon panier?

R. Les produits imparfaits sont disponibles seulement s’ils ont été générés par la production. Nous ne pouvons pas prévoir quand, ni si nous en aurons en inventaire. Revenir voir sur notre site web régulièrement reste le meilleur moyen de savoir s’ils sont disponibles (nous mettons notre inventaire à jour à toutes les semaines).

 

 

Q. Je viens de passer une commande, mais j’aimerais ajouter un article à celle-ci. Est-ce possible?

R. Si ta commande n’a pas encore été traitée, il est possible d’ajouter des items! Voici la marche à suivre :

- Assures-toi que la commande n’a pas encore été traitée : écris-nous ou répond directement au courriel de confirmation de ta commande.

- Si ta commande est encore à l’atelier, voici comment procéder :

Passe une autre commande avec les items que tu souhaites ajouter;

Utilise le code AJOUT2020 (pour enlever les frais de livraison, puisque ce sera envoyé avec ton autre commande);

Écris dans les commentaires de la commande d’ajouter ceci à ta commande (inclure ta référence débutant par W). Par exemple : ‘’SVP, ajouter à ma commande W1234’’.

 

Q. Combien de temps cela prend-t-il avant de recevoir ma commande?

R. Nous comprenons que tu aies hâte de recevoir ta commande! À partir du moment de ta commande, tu peux calculer :

- Le délais de traitement de ta commande à l’atelier : de 2 à 6 jours ouvrables.

- Le délais de livraison : cela varie selon où est envoyé le colis. Un colis envoyé à Montréal prendra un jour ouvrable, tandis qu’un colis envoyé à Vancouver peut prendre jusqu’à 6 jours ouvrables.

Si tu n'as toujours pas reçu ta commande après ces délais, n’hésites-pas à nous contacter!

 

 

Q. Quels sont les textiles utilisés dans la confection des produits Öko créations?

R. Le choix de nos textiles est le fruit de recherches et d’expérimentation. Nous cherchons des textiles qui puissent à la fois avoir un moindre impact sur la planète et sur la santé, être de grande qualité et bien sûr, vous plaire! De ce fait, nous sommes constamment à l’affût des sources d’approvisionnement que nous offre le marché.

Nos recherches nous ont conduits vers le choix des textiles suivants : chanvre, coton biologique et polyester recyclé. Il s’agit de fibres peu polluantes.

Le choix du chanvre est décrit de façon détaillée à la question suivante, mentionnons toutefois que comme celui-ci peut pousser sous nos climats canadiens, il nous apparaît essentiel de promouvoir son usage.

Nous utilisons aussi le coton certifié biologique seulement, sachant que :

- Le coton traditionnel représente 2,4% des surfaces cultivées mais 25% des insecticides utilisés au niveau mondial

- Le coton traditionnel cause l’intoxication de 1 million de personnes et la mort de 22 000 personnes chaque année dans le monde (majoritairement des travailleurs)

- Le coton traditionnel est le 3e consommateur d`eau d’irrigation au monde après le riz et le blé, avant les fruits et légumes, dans un contexte de rareté d`eau grandissante. Le coton biologique demande moins d’eau que le coton traditionnel, toutefois reste exigeant en eau comparativement au chanvre par exemple.

- Le recours au travail des enfants dans la culture du coton traditionnel est fréquent

- De multiples traitements chimiques d’apprêt » ou d’ « ennoblissement» sont subis par les fibres de coton traditionnel.

 

Sources:

Équiterre; Guide du vêtement responsable, 2009 / Environmental assesment of textiles, danish ministery, 2007 / Goldminc, Myriam et Aubert, Claude; Vêtement, la fibre écologique, Terre Vivante, 2001 / Cotton and the environment, organic trade association / Protégez-vous en partenariat avec ethiquette.ca; Guide acheter vert, 2008.

 

Q. Pourquoi le chanvre est-il écologique?

R. Le chanvre est cité partout comme étant la fibre la plus écologique qui soit. Pourquoi en est-il ainsi?

 

Naturellement peu polluant

Le chanvre constitue l’une des fibres naturelles les moins polluantes qui soient. Très peu exigeante, la plante de chanvre ne nécessite aucun engrais ni aucun traitement. Celle-ci pousse plus vite que les mauvaises herbes (elle couvre le sol en environ 8 jours), étouffant ces dernières naturellement sans herbicide. De plus, le chanvre est peu ou pas attaqué par les insectes.

 

Régénération des sols

Les racines de chanvre s’enfoncent profondément dans la terre, drainant, aérant et régénérant celle-ci. Laissé sur place après une récolte, le chanvre nourrira le sol en se décomposant et en restituant de fortes proportions d’éléments nutritifs à la terre.

 

Durabilité

La fibre de chanvre est la plus résistante du monde végétal. Classé parmi les produits de première nécessité au même titre que le pain au 18e siècle, le chanvre a été utilisé, entre autres, pour les voiles et cordages de bateau, les filets de pêche, les vêtements et la literie. Le chanvre textile est réellement à toute épreuve en ce qui concerne les lavages et supporte des températures élevées.

 

Culture locale

Le chanvre s’adapte à tous les types de sol et à presque tous les climats. Contrairement au coton et au bambou, il peut très bien pousser au Québec et au Canada. Légal de culture seulement depuis 1998 au Canada, nous assistons présentement à une renaissance de sa culture et à l’émergence d’un marché de produits de chanvre, notamment des produits alimentaires (graines et huile de chanvre), cosmétiques (huile de chanvre) et de construction (chènevotte). Au niveau textile, de petites initiatives ont lieu actuellement, permettant d’entrevoir la possibilité d’éventuel approvisionnement de chanvre québécois ou canadien.

 

Polyvalence

Peu de produits sont aussi polyvalents que le chanvre! Il peut nous nourrir, nous vêtir, nous loger, il peut être transformé en papier, en tissu, en farine, en matériaux de construction, en composant de voitures et en savons et ce, sans produits chimiques dangereux!

 

Excellent rendement

Le chanvre produit une quantité de fibre par hectare bien plus importante que tout autre type de plante. Par exemple, on peut obtenir 250% plus de chanvre que de coton sur une superficie donnée et 1,5 fois plus de chanvre que de lin. De plus, la culture du chanvre donne 4 fois plus de papier par acre que les arbres.

 

Autres qualités du chanvre

- Grande capacité d’absorption

- Arrête les rayons ultraviolets

- Propriétés bactéricides et fongicides

- Mélangé à du coton ou à de la soie, le chanvre devient un tissu souple et soyeux

- Transformation en fibre sans produit chimique, par des techniques mécaniques et par le rouissage (trempage de la fibre dans l`eau)

 

Sources:

Le chanvre canadien, Agriculture et Agro-alimentaire Canada, 2011 / Habillez-moi de chanvre, Conseil national de recherches Canada, 2004 / Équiterre; Guide du vêtement responsable, 2009 / Goldminc, M et Aubert, C; Vêtement, la fibre écologique, Terre Vivante, 2001.

 

 

Q. Les produits Öko créations sont-ils certifiés biologiques ou équitables?

R. Pour l’instant, les produits «finis» Öko créations ne sont pas certifiés biologiques. Cependant, les textiles qui les composent le sont toujours. Ces textiles sont pour la majorité certifiés par l’organisme GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standard) et ont différentes provenances.

 

Nos produits ne sont pas non plus certifiés équitables. Cependant, ils sont tous fabriqués au Canada et le bien-être de nos employés est très important pour nous. Ceux-ci sont bien rémunérés, travaillent dans des conditions souples, agréables et bénéficient d’avantages sociaux. Nos locaux sont spacieux et lumineux. L’atmosphère est chaleureuse.

 

Bien que non certifiés équitables, nos fournisseurs visitent les lieux de fabrication des textiles qu’ils fabriquent afin de s’assurer des conditions des travailleurs. Le fait que les textiles soient biologiques, donc sans ajout de produit chimique nocif, est sans aucun doute très bénéfique pour la santé des travailleurs!

Entête_01_optimise

Frequently Asked Questions (F.A.Q.)

 

Welcome to the FAQ page to help you find answers to your questions!

Can't find an answer to your question? We will be happy to help you, contact us!

 

 

 

Q. Why is our fabric undyed?

A. Hemp fleece, which is used in our Öko-Pads and makeup pads, is undyed and non-chlorine-bleached. Since this fabric is in direct contact with the skin, we’ve chosen a high-quality, hygienic textile that is gentle for our bodies and the earth.

 

Q. What’s the best way to take care of my Öko-Pads?

A. There are many methods for taking care of Öko-Pads. You can consult our Product Care Guide. Many tips and techniques are described; from the management of used pads to the wash day! A good care extend the useful life of your pads while maximizing their effectiveness.

 

Q. What do I do if my pads are stained?

Sodium percarbonate is an excellent stain fighter. You can consult our Product Care Guide for more information. Note that heat can set stains, so avoid hot water that can clot blood on textiles and make sure there’s no blood remaining on your Öko-Pads before putting them in the dryer.

Otherwise, even if stains remain, they won’t impact the function of your pads, it’s just esthetics!

 

Q. Do I need to wash my Öko-Pads during my cycle?

A. If you don’t want to wash your pads during your period, just make sure you have enough pads for your entire cycle. If you don’t mind doing pad laundry during your cycle, don’t worry, Öko-Pads can go in the dryer, so they’ll be ready when you need them.

 

Q. How do I make sure my pad stays put?

A. The fabric backing on our pads is cotton, which, unlike PUL (sometimes used by other brands) is not slippery. If you still feel like your pad is moving, we recommend wearing snug-fitting cotton underwear with your Öko-Pads and avoiding slippery fabric like satin or nylon.

On heavy flow days, use long Öko-Pads with two sets of wings for better stability. Tip: you can even wear a second pair of undies on top of the first to keep the pad in place; this works great overnight!

 

Q. My Öko-Pads are leaking, what do I do?

A. Leaks are rare with Öko-Pads, but if you’re experiencing leaks, here are some troubleshooting tips:

-Prep your pads! Wash your pads before use as they become more absorbent with each wash.

-Choose the right absorbency for your flow.

-Make sure you change your pad frequently enough.

-Make sure your pad is in the right position and choose underwear that keeps your pad in place.

-Notice if your flow is more liquid than usual and if this may be a cause of leaks.

If you have leaks despite these tips, don’t hesitate to contact us!

 

Q. Do Öko-Pads smell?

A. Menstrual fluids do not on their own have an unpleasant odour, the odour comes from bacterial proliferation. Using Öko-Pads can help manage unpleasant odours thanks to the antibacterial properties of hemp fibre.

 

Q. How do I use Öko-Pads when I’m out of the house?

A. We suggest using our Dual Pocket Mini, which is perfect for transporting Öko-Pads on-the-go. It is designed with two waterproof sections to hygienically store clean and used pads separately. Once you’re home, simply remove the pads and wash as usual.

 

Q. How many pads do I need for my cycle?

A. It can be tricky to figure out how many pads to buy when you switch to reusable.

Consider:

- Your flow: light, regular, heavy?

- How often do you change your disposable pad during the day?

- Do you want to wash your pads during your cycle?

 

Here’s a sample calculation:

Maxime normally uses 3 disposable pads per day and 1 overnight. The first 2 days of her period are regular, the next 2 are lighter and the last day she experiences light spotting. Maxime doesn’t want to wash her pads during her cycle.

Here’s how we would calculate her needs:

(3 pads per day x 2 days of regular flow) + (3 pads per day x 2 days of light) + ( 2 pads per day x 1 day of spotting) + 4 nights =

6 regular pads (regular flow), 6 liners (light flow), 2 mini (spotting) and 4 long (heavy flow or overnight) for a full cycle. This is just an example.

 

You don’t have to go 100% reusable right away. You can start with a few washable pads in your kit and add more as you go.

 

Q. Are Öko-Pads suitable for light bladder leaks?

A. Our regular and long pads can work well for light bladder leaks.

 

Q. Are Öko-Pads suitable for post-partum?

A. Long Öko-Pads are not specifically designed for post-partum use. However, several bloggers (including Maman loup's Den) have testing them following delivery and have been satisfied with their absorbency and size. Wash your pads at least 2 times in advance to make sure they are absorbent enough for your post-partum flow.

 

Q. I washed my Öko-Pads before use but the texture seems fluffy. Is that normal?

A. The texture of Öko-Pads’ hemp fleece can be a bit “fluffy” after the first few washes. This is totally normal. Washing and drying the hemp fleece opens the textile fibres and increases absorbency. As a natural fibre, it is subject to variation from one batch to another. If, after several washes, the texture hasn’t improved and it bothers you, contact us.

 

Q. What is the most eco-friendly way to dispose of my Öko-Pads when they are no longer usable?

A. After many years of loyal service, it’s possible your Öko-Pads are at the end of their useful life.

Reusing and upcycling is the most eco-friendly solution: many clients get quite creative about reusing Öko-Pads that are past their prime. Old pads can be used over and over to remove nail polish, or as a little cleaning cloth for nooks and crannies (taking advantage of hemp’s super absorbency). If you sew, you can use our pretty prints in your next project! (And share it with us, we want to see it!)

If none of these options work for you, here’s how to dispose of your Öko-Pads:

Our pads are composed of:
- Hemp and organic cotton fleece
- Organic cotton with a waterproof polyurethane backing
- Brass snaps
- Organic cotton label
- Polyester thread

The only components that aren’t natural and compostable are the waterproof backing, the polyester thread, and the snaps (which are brass and can be recycled at metal recycling centres).

If you want to compost the remainder:

Rip the seams of the Öko Pads, remove thread and dispose. Remove the hemp top layer and cut into pieces to incorporate into your compost. For the backed cotton, it would be theoretically possible to bury it and let the cotton break down, leaving just the polyurethane layer to throw out. However, this layer will likely be degraded and difficult to pick out and throw away. The polyurethane layer and the polyester threads make up just 5% of an Öko-Pad.

 

 

Q. Is the inner lining of the bags safe?

A. Yes! We use food-grade polyurethane.

 

Q. How long can I keep bread in a bread storage bag?

A. The bread will stay fresh at least 5 days (if there’s any left by then).

 

Q. Can I freeze bread in the bread storage bags?

A. Although our bags are not designed for this purpose, you can use them in the freezer. Because the bags are not completely airtight, we do not recommend freezing foods for longer than 1-2 weeks.

 

 

Q. How long does the product last?

A. Once dissolved in water, the product lasts as long as your standard cleaning product. Still, we suggest using it within 6 months to preserve the natural fragrances.

If the product is still in its original bag, it can last for several years if the package is stored in a dry place.

 

Q. How much water do you need?

A. One tablet dissolves in 500ml of water.

 

Q. How am I supposed to use these tablets correctly?

A. Start by closing your spray nozzle (set it to OFF).

Place a tablet into a bottle filled with 500ml of water. Then wait for the tablet to dissolve completely. Once you are ready to use the product, set the spray nozzle to ON. Each time you clean, lightly shake the bottle to make sure the concentrate is equally distributed throughout the entire bottle.

Finished your first tablet? Congratulations! You just saved a plastic bottle from being thrown out!

Now it’s a good idea to rinse it out before adding your second tablet.

 

Q. Do I need to use warm or cold water?

A. Both work very well. The warmer the water, the faster the tablet will dissolve.

 

Q. Does the bottle need to be completely empty before adding a second tablet?

A. In order to guarantee a perfect concentration of the product, we recommend emptying the bottle before you add a new tablet.

 

Q. Do I have to shake the bottle to dissolve the tablet?

A. The tablet normally dissolves in seconds. But if the tablet doesn’t dissolve completely or if the product does not appear to be mixed all the way, you can lightly shake the bottle. Make sure the spray nozzle is closed (set to OFF) before shaking.

 

Q. Can I use any bottle I have lying around at home?

A. Certainly! The process is the same as if you were using our bottles.

 

Q. Does your window product work as well as the famous blue colored brand?

A. Ultimately yes! However, we use natural products in our formula, unlike the more famous blue colored brand. Since our tablets don’t contain alcohol, the water may sometimes take a little longer to evaporate . This is why we suggest washing your windows and mirrors with a microfiber towel and then immediately wiping it with a dry cloth. With one of our formula processes, you can polish the cleaning area with a shiny finish.

 

Q. What ingredients do you use in your products?

A. Transparency is at the heart of our business. We only use 100% natural ingredients. We make all our ingredients visible directly on our product sheets, just look at the additionnal information on the bottom of the product sheet.

 

Q. Do you test your products on animals?

A. Of course not! Our products are vegan.

 

Q. Why don’t you use essential oils in your products?

A. Some essential oils can be harmful to pregnant women or more vulnerable persons. This is why we prefer to use natural fragrances.

 

Q. Where are your products made?

A. We make our products in Quebec City, Canada.

 

 

For more informations, you can consult FAQ'S Kali Deodorant.

 

 

Q. What is considered an imperfect product?

A. Sometimes a product does not meet our quality standards. Products can be classified as imperfect because of a small defect such as:

- Stitching that has been repaired.

- A small stain.

- A small irregularity in shape or dimensions.

- Other small defects that don’t impact function.

In all of these cases, it’s just a matter of looks!

 

Q. Why can’t I add an imperfect product to my cart?

A. Imperfect products are only available as they are created during production. We can’t predict if and when we will have imperfect stock in our inventory. Checking our site regularly is the best way to find imperfect products. We update our inventory every week.

 

 

Q. I just placed an order, but I’d like to add something. Is this possible?

A. If your order has not been processed yet, you can still add items! Here’s how:

- Make sure your order has not been processed yet: send us an email or reply directly to your order confirmation email.

- If your order isn’t processed yet, here’s what to do:

Make another order with the items you want to add.

Use code AJOUT2020 (to remove the shipping fees since the items will be sent together).

Note in the comments that this order is to be combined with your previous order (include your order number starting with W). For example: “Please add to order W1234.”

 

Q. How long will it take to receive my order?

A. We know you’re excited to get your order! From the moment you place your order, you can calculate:

- Order processing at our workshop: 2 to 6 business days.

- Delivery time: this will depend on the destination. A package sent to Montréal arrives in 1 business day, but a package sent to Vancouver can take up to 6 business days.

If you haven’t received your order within a reasonable time, don’t hesitate to contact us!

 

Q. Can I use a coupon code on an order I’ve already placed?

A. Unfortunately not. As stated in our terms of sale, promotional codes are non-retroactive. Never miss a promo code by following us on social media and subscribing to our newsletter!

You can always return your order (unused products in their original packaging). If you wish to do so, contact us with your order number and a photo of your return. We will give you a reference number to include with your package. The buyer is responsible for return shipping costs.

 

Q. Can I pick up my order at the workshop?

A. We do not yet offer this option, and with the current health situation we are keeping contacts at a minimum. You can use our store finder to see if there’s an Öko retailer near you. Note that we offer free shipping for orders over $75.

 

 

Q. What fabrics are used to make Öko Creations products and why are they “green”?

A. The choice of our textiles is the fruit of research and experimentation. We search for textiles that have minimal impact on our planet and health, are of great quality, and, of course, please our customers! Therefore, we are constantly at the forefront of what supplies are available on the market.

Our research has brought us to the following textiles: hemp, organic cotton and recycled polyester. These are natural or minimally polluting fibres.

The choice of hemp is described in detail in the question below. We would like to add that since hemp cultivation is suitable to Canadian climates, we find it critical to promote its use.

We also use certified organic cotton, knowing that:

- Traditional cotton represents just 2.4% of cultivated lands, but 25% of the insecticides used worldwide.

- Traditional cotton cultivation causes the intoxication of 1 million people and the death of 22 000 people each year (mostly workers).

- Traditional cotton is the 3rd largest consumer of irrigated water in the world after rice and wheat, before fruits and vegetables, in a time of water scarcity. Organic cotton requires much less water than traditional cotton, although it remains more demanding than hemp.

- Child labour in the cultivation of traditional cotton is common.

- Multiple chemical treatments for preparing and finishing are used on traditional cotton fibres.

 

Sources:

Équiterre; Guide du vêtement responsable, 2009 / Environmental assesment of textiles, danish ministery, 2007 / Goldminc, Myriam et Aubert, Claude; Vêtement, la fibre écologique, Terre Vivante, 2001 / Cotton and the environment, organic trade association / Protégez-vous en partenariat avec ethiquette.ca; Guide acheter vert, 2008.

 

Q. Why is hemp ecological?

A. Hemp is cited everywhere as being the most “green” fibre there is. Why?

 

Naturally low polluting

Hemp constitutes one of the least polluting fibres in existence. The hemp plant requires no fertilizer or other treatments to grow. In fact, it grows faster than weeds, covering the ground in about 8 days and choking out weeds without the need for herbicides. Futhermore, hemp is seldom attacked by insects.

 

Soil regeneration

Hemp roots go deep into the ground, draining, aerating and regenerating the soil. By leaving the plant in place after a harvest, hemp will feed the ground by decomposing and returning a strong proportion of nutritive elements to the earth.

 

Durability

Hemp fibre is the most resistant in the vegetable world. Considered a first necessity good alongside such items as bread, in the 18th century, hemp was used for such things as ship sails, ropes, fishing nets, clothing and stockings. Textile hemp is extremely easy to wash and is not damaged by high temperatures.

 

Local Farming

Hemp adapts itself to all types of soil and almost all climates. Contrary to cotton and bamboo, it grows well in Québec and in the rest of Canada. Only legally farmable since 1998 in Canada, we are presently witnessing a renaissance of its farming and the emergence of a market for hemp products, notably food (hemp seeds and oil), cosmetic (hemp oil) and construction (hempcrete) products. In the field of textiles, small initiatives are taking place now to make Canada-grown hemp a possibility in the near future.

 

Versatility

Few products are as versatile as hemp! It can feed us, clothe us, house us… and it can even be transformed into paper, fabric, flour, construction materials, car components and soaps, and all this without dangerous chemicals!

 

Excellent yield

Hemp produces a much higher quantity of fibre per hectare than any other type of plant. For example, we can obtain 250% more hemp than cotton on a given surface, and 1.5 times more hemp than flax. On top of this, hemp farming gives 4 times more paper than trees.

 

Other qualities of hemp

- Very absorbent and hypoallergenic

- Blocks ultraviolet rays

- Has bactericidal and fungicidal properties

- Mixed with cotton, hemp becomes soft and silky

- Fibre can be transformed without chemical agents, by mechanical techniques and by retting (soaking of fibre in water)

 

Sources:

Le chanvre canadien, Agriculture et Agro-alimentaire Canada, 2011 / Habillez-moi de chanvre, Conseil national de recherches Canada, 2004 / Équiterre; Guide du vêtement responsable, 2009 / Goldminc, M et Aubert, C; Vêtement, la fibre écologique, Terre Vivante, 2001.

 

 

Q. Are Öko creations products certified organic or fair trade?

A. At the moment, completed Öko Creations products are not certified organic. However, our textiles are certified organic. These textiles are mainly certified by the GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standard).

 

Our products are also not certified Fair Trade, but they are all made in Canada and the well-being of our employees is very important to us. They are well paid and work in flexible and comfortable conditions. Our offices are spacious and filled with light. The atmosphere is warm.

 

Although not certified Fair Trade, our suppliers visit the textile manufacturing sites to ensure that working conditions are fair. The fact that the textiles are organic, and therefore do not contain harmful chemical products, is without a doubt beneficial to workers’ health!